Shape the Future of Wind Energy Research

about | activities

The European Academy of Wind Energy – eawe

The eawe aims at enhancing wind energy research by integrating and connecting the activities of the highest level academic and research institutes in Europe working on Wind Energy:

  • by integration activities: exchange of scientists, PhD and graduate students
  • by spreading excellence through joint international education and training activities
  • by developing a long-term research strategy


eawe`s regular activities

  • Annual PhD Seminar
  • Biennial conference: The Science of Making Torque from Wind (in even years)
  • Biennial conference: Wind Energy Science Conference (in odd years)
  • Supervision of the EWEA Annual Conference Scientific Track
  • Recognition of excellence with two annual awards:
    • eawe Scentific Award;
    • eawe Excellent Young Wind Doctor Award

eawe`s general activities

  • Integration activities:
    • exchange of students, PhD students and scientists
    • exploitation of existing research infrastructures
  • Spreading excellence:
    • development of international training courses
    • dissemination of knowledge, support to SMEs, standardisation
  • Long-term research activities

eawe awards

The eawe recognises excellence with two awards presented annually either at the EWEA annual conference, at the annual eawe PhD seminar or the biennial Torque Conference.

The Excellent Young Wind Doctor Award is adjudicated by a Committee led by Professor Gerard van Bussel, TU Delft, Netherlands. Nominations should be supported with a motivation of the PhD supervisor, a motivation by an eawe member not being the PhD supervisor and be send by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

The winners of the Excellent Young Wind Doctor Award are offered the possibility to publish their PhD thesis with the German publisher Springer.

The Scientific Award is adjudicated by the President, Vice President and Past President. Nominations with a citation should be sent by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

In 2012 for the first time an honorary membership was awarded.


eawe scientific award

  • 2017 Prof. Dr. Lucy Pao, University of Colorado
  • 2016 Dr. Paul Veers, NREL, Colorado
  • 2015 Prof. Dr. Jens Nørkær Sørensen, DTU VINDENERGI, Denmark
  • 2014 Dr. Ervin Bossanyi, DNV GL, United Kingdom
  • 2013 Prof. Dr. Jakob Mann, DTU VINDENERGI, Denmark
  • 2012 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert Gasch, Technical University of Berlin, Germany
  • 2011 Prof. Dr. ir. Gijs van Kuik, University Delft, The Netherlands
  • 2010 Dr. Takis Chaviaropoulos, CRES, Greece
  • 2009 Prof. Dr. Rebecca Barthelmie, Indiana University, USA
  • 2008 Stig Øye, DTU, Denmark
  • 2007 Dr. Herman Snel, ECN, The Netherlands

eawe excellent young wind doctor award

  • 2017 Jayachandra Sakamuri, DTU VINDENERGI, Denmark
  • 2016 David Schlipf, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • 2015 Emmanuel Simon Pierre Branlard, DTU VINDENERGI, Denmark
  • 2014 Ke Ma, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • 2013 Leonardo Bergami, DTU VINDENERGI, Denmark
  • 2012 Dimitris Chortis, University of Patras
  • 2011 Laith Rashid, University of Manchester
  • 2010 Carlos Simao Ferreira, Technical University-Delft
  • 2009 Julia Gottschall, University of Oldenburg
  • 2008 Tonio Sant, Technical University-Delft / University of Malta
  • 2008 Jason Jonkman, University of Colorado

eawe honorary membership

  • 2016 Em. Prof. Dr. Peter Tavner, Durham University, United Kingdom
  • 2016 Prof. Dr. Gijs van Kuik, Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands
  • 2012 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Schmid, Fraunhofer IWES, Germany (* 23. Juni 1944; † 6. Mai 2013)